

PRESS RELEASE

ESMA appoints Carlo Comporti as a new member to its Management Board and reappoints the Chairs of its Standing Committees

The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), the EU's financial markets regulator and supervisor, has appointed Carlo Comporti, Commissione Nazionale per le Società e la Borsa (CONSOB), as a new member to its Management Board. The election took place at the Board of Supervisors meeting on 11 December 2024, in order to replace outgoing member, Rodrigo Buenaventura, Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV). Mr Comporti will serve the remainder of the outgoing member's term until 31 March 2027.

The <u>Management Board</u> is responsible for ensuring that ESMA carries out its mission and performs the tasks assigned to it under its founding Regulation. ESMA Chair, Verena Ross, is chairing the Management Board, which consists of the following members:

- Eduard Müller, Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA), Austria
- Thorsten Pötzsch, Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin), Germany
- Vasiliki Lazarakou, Hellenic Capital Markets Commission (HCMC), Greece
- Carlo Comporti, Commissione Nazionale per le Società e la Borsa (CONSOB), Italy
- Jos Heuvelman, Autoriteit Financiële Markten (AFM), Netherlands
- Armi Taipale, Finanssivalvonta (FIN-FSA), Finland
- Natasha Cazenave, ESMA Executive Director (non-voting member)
- Voitěch Belling, ESMA Vice-Chair (observer)
- European Commission representative (non-voting member).

The Standing Committees are expert groups drawn from ESMA staff and the National Competent Authorities (NCAs) for securities markets regulation in the Member States and are responsible for the development of policy in their respective areas.