2018 Report on corporate governance of Italian listed companies
Corporate governance of Italian listed companies

 

REPORT 2018

 

Ownership and control structure
As for the ownership structure of Italian listed companies, in line with previous years, the majority of the companies are controlled (in about 77% of the cases a single shareholder ... more
 
Corporate boards
At the end of 2017, the traditional management and control system is adopted by most Italian listed companies, representing 91% of market capitalization, while the one-tier and the two-tier models are adopted in total by four firms ... more
 
Annual general meetings
The 2018 Annual General Meetings (AGMs) of the 100 most capitalized Italian listed companies show large participation by shareholders, and in particular by institutional investors. In detail, ... more
 
Related party transactions
Pursuant to the disclosure rules on Related Party Transactions, since 2011 Italian listed companies have reported 484 material RPTs (29 in the first half of 2018), ... more
 

 

The Report was prepared by:
Nadia Linciano (coordinator) - CONSOB, Head of the Economic Studies, Research Department (n.linciano@consob.it)
Angela Ciavarella - CONSOB, Economic Studies, Research Department (a.ciavarella@consob.it)
Rossella Signoretti - CONSOB, Corporate Governance Department (r.signoretti@consob.it)
Lucia Pierantoni - CONSOB, Economic Studies, Research Department (l.pierantoni@consob.it)
Eugenia Della Libera - CONSOB, Economic Studies, Research Department (e.dellalibera@consob.it)
Elena Frasca - CONSOB, Economic Studies, Research Department (e.frasca@consob.it)

The opinions expressed in the Report are the authors' personal views and are in no way binding on Consob.  

Full text [PDF format]

 

ISSN 2281-535X [online]